First Nations University of Canada | Canada Varsity

First Nations University of Canada

Not open for further replies.


Canada Varsity
Staff member
Here are some facts about the First Nations University of Canada:

  1. The First Nations University of Canada (FNUniv) is a university based in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.
  2. It was founded in 1976 as the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, and was renamed to the First Nations University of Canada in 2003.
  3. The university is unique in Canada as it is the only university that is Indigenous-governed and offers academic programs that are specifically designed for Indigenous students.
  4. The university offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in areas such as Indigenous studies, business, education, social work, and fine arts.
  5. The university has campuses in Regina, Saskatoon, and Prince Albert, with the main campus located in Regina.
  6. The university is a member of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) and the Association of Canadian Universities for Indigenous Studies (ACUIS).
  7. The university has a strong focus on Indigenous culture, traditions, and languages. Many of its courses are taught in Indigenous languages such as Cree, Dakota, and Dene.
  8. The university is committed to fostering Indigenous research and has established a number of research centres and institutes focused on Indigenous issues.
  9. The university has a student population of around 1,000 students, with the majority of students being Indigenous.
  10. The university has a number of partnerships with other Canadian universities and colleges, as well as international institutions, to promote Indigenous education and research.
Not open for further replies.